Gilmer & Giglio

Blog

Posts tagged DWI
I blew below .08, can I be arrested for DWI?

Yes.

Driving While Intoxicated in Louisiana prohibits the 

operating of any motor vehicle, aircraft, watercraft, vessel, or other means of conveyance when any of the following conditions exist:

  1. The operator is under the influence of alcoholic beverages.

  2. The operator’s blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or more by weight based on grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood.

  3. The operator is under the influence of any controlled dangerous substances listed in Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V as set forth in R.S. 40:964.

  4. (i) The operator is under the influence of a combination of alcohol and one or more drugs that are not controlled dangerous substances and that are legally obtainable with or without a prescription.

  5. (i) The operator is under the influence of one or more drugs that are not controlled dangerous substances and that are legally obtainable with or without a prescription.

La. R.S. 14:98A(1). Further, if you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02. La. R.S. 14:98.6.

What all of the above means is that, in order to prove a person is operating a vehicle while intoxicated, the State of Louisiana must prove: (1) that the person was operating a motor vehicle and (2) that the person was “under the influence” of alcoholic beverages. This can be done in a number of ways: via presumption if the driver submits to a breath test, blood test, or urine test, and the results show a BAC of .08 or above; or if the driver performs poorly on Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFSTs) and sufficient other evidence shows that the driver is under the influence of alcohol, controlled dangerous substances, or other drugs.

This New Year’s Eve, if you are going to celebrate, please drink responsibly and arrange for alternate transportation.

Happy New Year from Gilmer & Giglio!

I’ve been arrested for DWI - What's Going to Happen to My Driver’s License?

In Louisiana, when a person is arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), his driver’s license will also be suspended in an administrative proceeding that is entirely separate from the criminal prosecution.

The first step in this process occurs during the arrest, itself. During the arrest, law enforcement will read a series of instructions and regulations to the arrested person advising him of his rights related to the breathalyzer.

The law at the time of this writing requires a person operating a motor vehicle on the public highways of Louisiana to submit to a chemical test of his blood, breath, or other bodily substance if an officer believes he is operating or “in actual physical control” of a motor vehicle and a law enforcement officer has “reasonable grounds to believe he is under the influence of alcohol beverages or “any abused substance or controlled dangerous substance.” (La. R.S. 32:661).

If the arrested person refuses to submit to testing or submits to testing and his results are above the legal limit of .08 (or .02 in the event the arrested person is under the age of 21), his driver’s license will be suspended for a period ranging from 90 days to 365 days. In order to reinstate his driver’s license after a DWI arrest, an arrested person usually must provide proof of additional auto insurance (SR-22) and install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle he operates. 

The arrested person has 30 days to appeal the suspension of his driver’s license. 

If you have been arrested for DWI and are concerned about the status of your driver’s license, please call us for a consult at (318) 459-9111.